Iola Guide :
Drivers license and renewal information
Getting your drivers
Safe! Drive Sober!
Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles
of Lawful Presence Required (effective July 1, 2000)
County Treasurer Address Listing
guide for parents and guardians of teen drivers
Online Study Guide For Student Drivers gives information and
tests, laws, safety tips and more to help you prepare for you
drivers test. Just scroll down and choose the desired state.
For students and first timers please bring with you 2 forms of
ID. Be sure and read the acceptable
*Cost - $4.00
* Must be 14 years of age. Parent or guardian consent required
for all applicants under the age of 16.
* Vision & written tests required.
* Instruction Permit holder may drive at any time when accompanied
by a licensed adult driver 18 years of age or older.
* To get a Restricted License, you must have held an Instruction
Permit for at least 6 months.
to view the Teen driving laws
questions and answers about the teen driving law
DRIVERíS LICENSE (CLASS C OR M)
* Must be 15 years of age but less than 16.
* Parent or guardian consent required and driverís Ed completion
* An instruction permit is required for 6 months.
* Restricted licensee may drive to and from school (not
school activities); to, from or in connection with any employment
or farm related work, or at any time when accompanied by a licensed
adult driver 18 years of age or older.
DRIVERíS LICENSE (CLASS C OR M) FOR 16 & 17 YEAR OLDS
*Full test (vision, written, & drive) or Driverís Ed completion
*Applicant must provide affidavit showing at least 50 hours
of adult supervised driving, with 10 of those hours being at night,
by a licensed driver at least 21 years old.
* Any person under the age of 16 with a restricted license,
that is convicted of 2 or more moving violations will remain restricted
until age 17.
* Any licensee issued a Farm Permit or Restricted license
may not transport non-sibling minor passengers. Any conviction for
this is considered a moving violation.
The information provided was supplied from the Driving Age Laws
section at Go
YOU CHANGED YOUR ADDRESS?
Kansas law requires you to let us know of a change of address
within 10 days. The easiest and fastest way to change your
address is to submit your address change using the internet. Simply
here for the on-line address change form, fill it out and
submit it electronically to us following the instructions provided.
You can also go to any Driver's License Examination Station to
make an address change, OR you can download
the form by clicking here and mail your address change to
us. Please be sure to include your full name, driver's license
number, date of birth AND your new mailing address.
time for adults getting their license is $17.00 (4 years). This
includes the eye and written test.
The Drivers License Bureau is open Wednesday and Thursday from
7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. and is located at the top of the stairs
on the west side of the Allen County Court House.
Safe! Drive Sober!